The Byberry Pictures Page

Make your own free website on


The view from one of the patient's wards looking south.

The main entrance to N-9 is now boarded up. The building was constructed in the late 1940's to accommodate the hospital's growing population of criminal insane.

Another view of the main entrance to N-9. Note the airfoil shape of the columns, typical of post war design

The upper floors of W-3 were mostly lab and research space. The tabletops and shelves were solid granite - evidence that the state did at one time invest heavily in its network of psychiatric hospitals

Some sort of pressure vessel, perhaps an incinerator. Found in the basement of N-10, the Tuberculosis Hospital


Another lab in W-3. Hundreds of empty test tube racks still hang on the walls

Long dormant film projectors above the Fury Ellis Auditorium.

A well secured water closet in N-9 A patient's view of W-7 from a corner dayroom The drop limiter on an elevator in W-7. The centrifugal governer has long since rusted solid

Most of the main kitchens were scrapped out. These pizza ovens remain.

The N-9 'Cedar Unit' A Secured Women's Patient Ward. The building's two courtyards were typically the only place for residents of this ward to exercise

Where do the security guards put their trash? This is the front entrance of the old admissions building, directly behind the security shack

One of several amusements found in the recreation rooms of the Dogwood Unit

W-7 looms above the weeds and brush. The second oldest of the State built buildings now has patches of moss growing on the floors of the patient dorm rooms

The main entrance to W-7

The tuberculosis hospital, N-10, had two full identical kitchens and cafeterias on site. This one is on the lower floor

1950 Arial photo of Byberry's 'Men's side'. This campus had it's own seperate steam plant, kitchens, and dining facilities. Note W-6 and W-7 in upper left corner. Photo courtesy Goddog, Sept 2003